The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Quote

“The bond that …

“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life. Rarely do members of one family grow up under the same roof.”

I was talking to “hypersensationalism” and discussing friends of ours that have passed away recently.  I thought came to my mind.  I shared it with them and I would like to share this quote above with you… 

This is a famous quote (one of my very, very favorites!!) from “Illusions” by Richard Bach (who also wrote Jonathan Livingston Seagull way back in, like, the 70′s or something.)  It kind of conveys what I’m thinking.  Let me know if it touches you, too.

 

This hits me hard.  We have some true, true friends that we spend some holidays with that are not true “family” by blood but we have known them for about 15 years and our kids have grown up together.  I don’t know what I would do without these people in my life and I don’t know what I would do if anything happened to them or their kids.  I feel closer to them than most people.

 

When you read this quote, what do you think?  Who do you immediately think of?  Do they KNOW that you feel this deeply about them?  If not, why don’t you take today and tell them, let them know?

 

Life is short, my friend.  It may change your life to let someone know that you consider them to be your true family.  Family is more than just best friends, it’s a stronger bond that can’t be faked.  You know who they are, so think about it.  Let them know and then come back and tell me how it went.

 

Until then,

Ciao for now,

Shawn

P.S.  And, a big thank you to my friend, hypersensationalism, for getting me to jot it down.

 

Leave a Reply

